Give Us a Call: +1-877-99-BOPUP or Request for a Chat en Vivo

File Distribution. Manage tasks

To switch to the File Distribution profile page, just find and select the task in the Current Tasks or Completed Tasks tree in the left pane or double-click the task name in the File Distribution tasks list (the result view).

The result view displays details about the File Distribution task and the list of assigned users who receive the files/documents.

The toolbar contains the following functions you can access, from left to right:

  • New — Add a new File Distribution task.
  • Edit — Edit/view the selected distribution task, manage the assigned users.
  • Complete — Abort the selected working File Distribution task.
  • Delete — Delete the selected File Distribution task from the server. This action also deletes all logged history for the task.
  • Refresh — Update the distribution task profile page displayed in the result view.
  • Print — Print the task profile page displayed in the result view.
  • Options — Open the Options dialog box to change the server settings and look-and-feel options.
  • Help — Open the help contents (this file).

File Distribution task profile page

You can use buttons on the profile page to quickly edit, complete or delete the current File Distribution task.


Adding a File Distribution task

To create new a distribution task on the server select the File Distribution view in the tree and select the "New..." menu item from the pop-up menu. You can also select the "Task\New..." item from the main menu or use the button on the toolbar. It will open the Add File Distribution Task Wizard.

Welcome to the Add File Distribution Task Wizard


General Information

Use the next dialog box to enter the task name and upload the distributed files/documents on the server. Click Browse... button to select files or drag-n-drop files or/and folders to the dialog box.

Enter the title and upload files

You can set up the transfer flags for the File Distribution task. These advanced options let you control which actions should be performed after the files received by recipients.

  • "Open folder after receiving" — Select this option in order to open directory with the received files after the transfer will be completed.

  • "Open/execute received file (applies only to a single document)" — Use this option to open or execute the file or document on a recipient's computer. This flag is available only when a single file is distributed.

  • "Automated mode" — This flag enables an automated reception of the distributed files and gives no options to decline or abort the transfer.


Messaging Groups

Select the Messaging Groups that should receive the distribution task.

Select the User Groups whose users should be added to the File Distribution task recipient list.

Use the Select all and Deselect all buttons to add all Messaging Groups to the task recipient list or remove them from it. Do not select any groups if you want to create the recipient list using available users and add each user individually.


Recipients List

Select and add users to the recipient list.

Add users to File Distribution task recipient list

This page displays the currently assigned users who receive the distributed files/documents. Click the Add/Remove users... button to manage the user (recipient) list.

Manage the recipient list

Use the "Show only enabled User Accounts" checkbox to display only enabled (active) accounts in the Available and Assigned lists. Use the Add >> and << Remove buttons or double-click on a user to move it between the lists. Click OK to apply the changes.

Click Next to go to the Finish dialog box and close the wizard.

Do not worry if you include the same user to the File Distribution task recipient list twice. The server detects duplicate user accounts assigned to the recipient list through Messaging Group(s) and/or direct assignment.


Editing an existing File Distribution task

To edit an existing distribution task and its assigned users, select and right-click it in the File Distribution view or in the result view and select the "Edit" menu item from the pop-up menu. You can also select the "Task\Edit..." item from the main menu or use the button on the toolbar.

You cannot change a completed File Distribution task from the Completed Tasks view. Since completed tasks are already performed and the server deleted distributed files from the SQL database then you can only view completed tasks in a read-only mode.

General

Change the task name and transfer flags

You can change the transfer flags for the File Distribution task. These options will be applied only for currently pending recipients of the task.

  • "Open folder after receiving" — Select this option in order to open directory with the received files after the transfer will be completed.

  • "Open/execute received file (applies only to a single document)" — Use this option to open or execute the file or document on a recipient's computer. This flag is available only when a single file is distributed.

  • "Automated mode" — This flag enables an automated reception of the distributed files and gives no options to decline or abort the transfer.

Assigned Recipients

Edit the assigned users list

Click the Add/Remove pending recipients... to manage currently pending users that are assigned to the task or add new users. You can also double-click on a user to move it between the lists. You cannot remove or add recipients that already received this distribution task or declined the transfer.


Completing File Distribution task

To complete an existing distribution task, select and right-click it in the Current Tasks view or in the result view and select the "Complete" menu item from the pop-up menu. You can also select the "Task\Complete" item from the main menu or use the button on the toolbar.

This action aborts currently working File Distribution task and marks all pending recipients as deleted. The task is marked as Completed and moved to the Completed Tasks view.


Deleting File Distribution tasks

To delete an existing distribution task, select and right-click it in the File Distribution view or in the result view and select the "Delete" menu item from the pop-up menu. You can also select the "Task\Delete" item from the main menu or use the button on the toolbar.

Delete the File Distribution task

Click Delete to delete the task and remove the associated task history from the server, i.e. all sent, pending, deleted and declined recipients.